The focus of this Summer School will be on the following thematic areas: Finsler geometry, dynamics, hyperbolic geometry, projective geometry, systolic geometry, Teichmüller theory.

The courses will be given by :

Norbert A'Campo (University of Basel)
"Riemann surfaces"

Ivan Babenko (University of Montpellier)
"Introduction to systolic geometry"
Gilles Courtois (Ecole Polytechnique)
"The structure of fundamental groups of manifolds with curvature bounded below,
            after V. Kapovitch and B. Wilking"

Daniel Massart (Montpellier)       
Intersection form and stable norms of Finsler surfaces"
Marc Troyanov (EPFL, Lausanne)              
"A crash course in Finsler Geometry"

Besides the courses, there will be a series of specialized lectures.

The Summer School is primarily intended for PhD students and young researchers.

Organising Committee:

Athanase Papadopoulos (University of Strasbourg)
Georgios Tsapogas (University of the Aegean)
Muhammed Uludağ (Galatasaray University, Istanbul)
Constantin Vernicos (University of Montpellier)
papadop at
get at
muhammed.uludag at
constantin.vernicos at

This Summer School is supported by the French reserach network "ANR Géométrie de Finsler et applications" and the Department of Mathematics of the University of the Aegean, in cooperation with the French research networks GDR "Tresses" and GDR PLATON "Géométrie, Arithmétique et Probabilités".

The Summer School will be held at the Department of Mathematics, University of the Aegean, at Karlovassi, at the Island of Samos (birthplace of Pythagoras), Greece.